joyfulwhimsey

Just another WordPress.com site

Mario Party : Decorations July 6, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — joyfulwhimsey @ 3:20 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

We’re finally at the end of this “Mario Party” series. I hope you’ve all enjoyed seeing  how I brought all these ideas together for my son’s party! He certainly enjoyed it 🙂 And, in the end, that’s what really matters to me.

 

To start with, hubby and I found this AWESOME 32-pc pack of gold star decorations, in the graduation section of Party City. Kyan really was born at the perfect time of year for this party, between the Easter eggs for the Yoshi Egg Hunt, and the graduation decor, we had no trouble at all finding what we wanted :). With the pack of stars, I took a Sharpie and drew on eyes to make them look like Mario Stars. Then we hung them from the ceiling all around the main party room.

 

 

This is what the room looked like the night before the party. We got red and blue streamers from Dollar Tree.

 

 

We also got these awesome gold star balloons from Dollar Tree, and I drew eyes on them as well 🙂

 

 

The “Mario Wall” was one of my favorite things… but I never got the time to set it up just the way I wanted.  My husband got these perfect size boxes from work, and I covered them with construction paper to make the “?” boxes. The Fire Flower is also made with just construction paper. The green pipes are just my bathroom trash bins with more construction paper wrapped around them… Basically, you need a LOT of construction paper to make this party happen!

 

This is what it looked like when the kids first came inside the house. Not VERY interesting, but unfortunately my house isn’t set up to enter through the main room. So we had the Boo Balloons out, and we set up a tunnel for them to crawl through to get get to the next room.

 

This is the laundry room… you have to pass through it to get to the kitchen and main room. It’s not very big… mostly just a hallway. So we hung blue sheets and taped on pictures of Cheep-cheeps and Bloopers and set up a bubble machine, so it was sort of like going through an underwater level.

 

 

When everyone came in, they were issued either a Princess crown or a Mario hat, and a Yoshi tongue.

 

We set up a “Favor Station” where the kids got to pick what they wanted from the question mark boxes and tunnels.

 

I think it all came together nicely on party day!!!!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

